New Microsoft Authenticator App is coming August 15th, supporting #AzureAD (of course…)


Have you ever used the Microsoft Authenticator app? I was using it for a long time now, because I wanted to have MFA enabled on my primary e-mail account, hosted in Office365. The Identity Division at Microsoft has done already a good job, because I could logon to my cloud services just by using not only my password, but also a six-digit code that was generated by the Authenticator app (working on Android, Windows Phone, IPhone).

It seems that we’ll get a new version, that will support one-click push notifications for MFA, but the feature that I’ll like most is the use of my phone’s fingerprint sensor, instead of typing codes.

What else? Support for wearables and support for certificate-based authentication. This new app will be delivered as an update to Azure Authenticator. Existing accounts you already have in your Azure Authenticator app will be automatically upgraded.

072516_0354_MicrosoftAu1

The above picture is taken from the Enterprise Mobility & Security Blog, it’s a good idea to go through the article here: https://blogs.technet.microsoft.com/enterprisemobility/2016/07/25/microsoft-authenticator-coming-august-15th/

Thanks for your time!

2 thoughts on “New Microsoft Authenticator App is coming August 15th, supporting #AzureAD (of course…)

  1. Παράθεμα: MFA and the new Microsoft Authenticator App that supports #AzureAD | spanougakis.com

  2. Παράθεμα: MFA and the new Microsoft Authenticator App that supports #AzureAD – Azure School

Τα σχόλια είναι απενεργοποιημένα.